Opened 8 years ago

Closed 8 years ago

#1753 closed task (fixed)

News item about Sol Katz Award 2016 - Call for Nominations

Reported by: Venkat Owned by: sac@…
Priority: normal Milestone:
Component: SysAdmin Keywords:


Can someone post the news item below on our website. I sent the mail to news_item@… on 11 July, 2016, but am still to see the news appear on our website.

Headline: Sol Katz Award 2016 - Call for Nominations

Related URL Title: Sol Katz Award wiki page URL:

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for the 2016 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software (GFOSS) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the GFOSS community. Recipients of the award will have contributed significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive provided both source code and applications freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's request, can do so at

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to SolKatzAward@… with a description of the reasons for this nomination. Nominations will be accepted until [ 23:59 UTC on August 4th]. A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by an OSGeo designated selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software will be announced at the FOSS4G-Bonn event in August. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

2015: Maria Brovelli 2014: Gary Sherman 2013: Arnulf Christl 2012: Venkatesh Raghavan 2011: Martin Davis 2010: Helena Mitasova 2009: Daniel Morissette 2008: Paul Ramsey 2007: Steve Lime 2006: Markus Neteler 2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2016

Venkatesh Raghavan (chair) Frank Warmerdam] Markus Neteler] Steve Lime Paul Ramsey Sophia Parafina Daniel Morissette Helena Mitasova Martin Davis Arnulf Christl Gary Sherman Maria Brovelli

Change History (1)

comment:1 by jsanz, 8 years ago

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Published. I'm sorry but I'm gonna need some help if two days is too much to post a news item.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.