Opened 7 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#1868 closed defect (fixed)

Documentation Error

Reported by: hughpearse Owned by: pramsey
Priority: high Milestone: PostGIS 2.0.1
Component: postgis Version: 2.0.x
Keywords: documentation ldconfig ld.so.conf libjson.so.0 Cc: Sandro Santilli <strk@…>; Paul Ramsey <pramsey@…>; Frank Warmerdam <warmerdam@…>; Mateusz Loskot <mateusz@…>; Regina Obe <lr@…>; Mark Cave-Ayland <mark.cave-ayland@…>; Olivier Courtin <olivier.courtin@…>; Kevin Neufeld <kneufeld.ca@…>; Chris Hodgson <chodgson@…>; Mark Leslie <mark.leslie@…>; Nicklas Avén <nicklas.aven@…>; Pierre Racine <Pierre.Racine@…>; Jorge Arévalo <jorge.arevalo at deimos-space.com>; Bborie Park <bkpark at ucdavis.edu>; David Zwarg <dzwarg@…>

Description

There is an error in the documentation for compiling PostGIS from sources and its dependencies (Proj4, GEOS, LibXML2, JSON-C, GDAL).

The nature of the bug it is not documented that people must manually add their library folders to "/etc/ld.so.conf" and then execute "sudo ldconfig" otherwise PostGIS will cause an error when the functions are being installed to a database by executing "psql -d geocoder -f postgis.sql".

The error encountered is: ERROR: could not load library "/usr/pgsql-9.1/lib/postgis-2.0.so": libjson.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

For my machine the solution was to execute the following commands after installing the dependencies but before installing PostGIS: sudo echo '/usr/local/lib' >> /etc/ld.so.conf sudo echo '/usr/lib' >> /etc/ld.so.conf sudo echo '/usr/lib64' >> /etc/ld.so.conf sudo ldconfig

Source: http://postgis.17.n6.nabble.com/PostGIS-ERROR-could-not-load-library-quot-usr-pgsql-9-1-lib-postgis-2-0-so-quot-td4571978.html

Attachments (1)

installing-postgres-and-postGIS.txt (3.1 KB) - added by hughpearse 7 years ago.
home made documentation for installing PostGIS

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (3)

Changed 7 years ago by hughpearse

home made documentation for installing PostGIS

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by robe

hughpearse,

This really doesn't belong in the core documentation as it is different for each OS. For OS specific installations, please put them here:

http://trac.osgeo.org/postgis/wiki/UsersWikiInstall

I'll verify to make sure we have that page linked in the documentation.

comment:2 Changed 7 years ago by robe

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

linked in docs at (2.1) 9920 and (2.0 ) r9921.

Also amended the dev links to point to user area until we get a bit more organized.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.